Should You Go Gluten-Free?
Foods to avoid on a gluten-free diet include anything made from or processed with wheat, rye or barley. This includes: -cereals -cakes -cookies -bread -pasta
Gluten is used as an additive in many foods and has numerous names, it is recommended that you obtain a complete listing of ingredients that contain gluten and check food labels. Some foods that may contain gluten are: -processed foods -sausage -candy -condiments -bullion
Most restaurants provide allergy listings which include wheat products, but wheat free does not necessarily mean gluten-free. It is important to let your food preparer know about your sensitivity. In some cases of gluten intolerance, it can take as little as 0.1 mg of gluten to cause a reaction. It is important to keep gluten-free foods separate from foods containing gluten to avoid cross contamination.
Though the list of foods that contain gluten is a long one, the list of gluten-free foods is even longer, and often healthier. Even if the brands you usually buy at the store do contain gluten, another brand may not. Fresh foods such as fruits and vegetables are gluten-free, as well as unprocessed meats and cheeses.
Rice and corn products can be substituted for many of the products you use. Some substitutions are:
-corn tortillas instead of flour
-corn flake crumbs instead of bread crumbs
-gluten-free all purpose flour
-corn or rice pasta
Consider the BenefitsA gluten-free diet can be a chance to make much needed changes in life. As well as alleviating symptoms of gluten intolerance, consider these added benefits: